Figuring out what to do after a car accident often feels overwhelming. On top of processing the property damage and physical injuries you suffered, you may not know your next steps.
A vital piece of evidence that serves useful in a personal injury lawsuit is the car accident report. Read on to learn more about a Vacaville accident police report and how to obtain a copy of your report. If you suffered an injury or damages following a car accident, contact a qualified personal injury attorney to review your options for compensation.
What Is an Accident Report?
A Vacaville police report is officially titled the CHP 555 Traffic Collision Report. Law enforcement officers use these reports to record the details relating to a car accident in Vacaville. The police officer records details surrounding the scene of the car accident in this Vacaville police report.
What Is in a Vacaville Accident Police Report?
A Vacaville Accident Police Report provides evidence of a police officer’s investigation after a car accident. A Vacaville Police Report generally includes the following information:
- Location of the accident;
- Name, address, and driver’s license information of involved parties;
- Insurance information of involved parties;
- Time and date of the accident;
- Identification of injuries and property damage; and
- Name and address of the parties complaining of injuries.
Additionally, the Vacaville police report may include the police officer’s observations regarding the weather, a determination of fault, and other useful information.
How to Report a Car Accident
California’s state-specific laws outline when and how you must report a car accident to the police. Generally, you must report car accidents in California if any of the following elements are present:
- Physical injuries,
- Damages from the car accident exceeding $1,000, or
- Any aggravating circumstances.
It is illegal not to report a car accident if these elements exist. However, it’s always best to request the assistance of the police after a car accident. A Vacaville police officer reporting to the scene of your accident creates a Vacaville Police Report that may assist in any personal injury claims.
You may report a car accident via telephone at the scene of the accident. You may also report the accident in person at the Vacaville Police Department. Generally, you have 24 hours to report a car accident to the Vacaville Police Department and ten days to report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Where Can I Get My Vacaville Police Report?
The Vacaville Police Department address is 650 Merchant Street, Vacaville, CA 95688. Request a copy of your Vacaville police report in the lobby Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 5:30 PM. Complete the Vacaville Police Department request form to request copies of Vacaville police reports. A report copy costs $0.25 per page.
To request a copy of the Vacaville police report to be mailed to your address, you must first make payment by check or credit card and present photo identification at the time of the request.
Additionally, you may request a copy of your Vacaville police accident report online at www.crashdocs.org. You must provide the following information:
- Date of the accident,
- Report number, and
- Valid email address.
Upon entering this information, you may then search through the database to find your Vacaville police report. You may retrieve your Vacaville accident police report approximately five to seven days after the accident.
After a car accident, you may wonder what steps to take next to preserve your rights and recover compensation for your injuries. The qualified attorneys at Wells Call Injury Lawyers provide diligent and comprehensive representation to clients. We know you may be facing many financial burdens in addition to the physical and emotional pain you are experiencing. Let us help with your claim, so you can focus on recovery.
Contact our office today for a free consultation.